Faith

And Jesus said unto them,  Because of your unbelief: for verily I (Jesus) say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.

                                                                                              -Matt.17:20

When I first read this passage as a child I had in mind one interpretation. I’ve since then become aware of another interpretation.  As I’ve spoken to more people, different people have had different interpretations. One interpretation is that the mustard seed is a living breathing entity that is waiting for the exact right moisture,  temperature, humidity  &  soil conditions to burst forth unto the world. That inside the consciousness of that seed is a yearning, burning desire to explode forth and grow. It eventually does burst forth, its flowers blossoming into a bright yellow.  If we had the same faith as the consciousness of that mustard seed we too could push through, push up and burst forth into the world creating our own flowering blossoms. 

The mustard seed is in fact not the smallest seed but it is pretty small at about 3 mm wide.

http://plants.usda.gov/java/largeImage?imageID=brju_002_ahp.tif

The other interpretation(there may in fact be more) is that if we as human beings and children of God could conjure up true faith, if in our solar plexus we can create a SUBSTANTIVE faith then WE COULD MOVE MOUNTAINS. Can we create 3 mm of faith?  Is our faith then a substance and real? Can we feel the seed of faith within our own solar plexus and can we move mountains with it? Jesus said we could.

Frequently we exercise our will power for faith. This post is about using our whole body, emotions, mind and heart to actualize our faith and our beliefs. Feel the substance of 3 mm’s of Faith in ourselves.

“Faith is like electricity. You can’t see it, but you can see the light.”

                  – Quote from Someone, Somewhere

Tags:

4 Responses to “Faith”

  1. Pat Cegan Says:

    Wonderful commentary on faith. I had a period in my life where I seemed to have “lost” my faith. A friend told me that I could pray for faith, even if I didn´t believe it would do any good. Skeptical but desperate, I began to pray each morning that my faith would be restored. At first I felt foolish. Who was I praying to? But eventually, it seemed ok. Then one morning, about six weeks later, as I began the prayer, a huge wave of energy and light engulfed me. I was so filled that I had to go into the pasture to have an area big enough to hold it all. As tears streamed down my face, I watched the sunrise and knew that my faith was restored. I have never been without it since, not for even a moment. Thank you for this reminder of the importance of faith. Christ also said, “Ask and yea shall receive!” I have found this to be true many times. hugs, pat

  2. informationforager Says:

    Thank you for the wonderful event of your life experience. I never have thought to “pray for faith.” In kind, as usual, you have opened my own eyes again. It’s wonderful because it’s like you have a furnace that helps to fuel God’s plan. But at wit’s end you find that you don’t even have the coal to keep the fire burning. Pray for Coal, Pray for Faith. Thanks again.

  3. emanita01 Says:

    I liked this post and your 3 mm build up.

    I also like “…You can’t see it, but you can see the light. – Quote from Someone, Somewhere”
    The two sentences fit seamlessly together

Leave a Reply

