Spiritual Perseverance

Recently it was brought to my attention that “I’ll never find what I’m looking for.” The point was made that it’s obvious that I’m searching and I need to settle. I disagree, no surprise here. I’m not purposely trying to surf or spin. I’m not trying to say I’m constantly dissatisfied.  I’m not trying to be obstinate. 

Much of what people think that I need to settle on is “an external object.”  What’s my book? What religion am I in?  Who’s my Savior? What teachings do I adhere to? I believe that I’m a spiritual being and that you are too. 

I once read a story(recalled to the best of my memory) about a CIA analyst/Salt Treaty Advisor that was being interviewed on the history of the cold war and the US/Soviet Arms Race Buildup.  He was questioned at length about the cold war, what it was, how it happened. The interviewer finally inquired on the Advisors’ role in the Salt Treaty.  “Since you’ve worked for about 25 years monitoring the weapons and the Russians, why are you working with them now, what is different now?” he asked. The advisor put down his coffee and looked the interviewer right in the eye, “Yes, you’re right, I’ve been at this a long time. Most of my career, in fact. The difference today is that the Russians now are actually going to give something.”  The interviewer looked at the analyst and said, “You mean you have sat in your chair for twenty-five years just waiting for the Russians.”   The Analyst smiled and said “Yep, waiting for them to give something of value, something of substance and something real.  Everything before this was just words, research and posturing. We now finally, after twenty-five years, really have something we can hang our hat on.”

That’s the way I feel.

Part of what I’m trying to say is “We aren’t there yet.” How can we be since the world is so divided?

Spirituality is a process, not an object. It has no beginning and no end.  I or we, will never arrive.  We can stand still(an illusion), step back or step forward but no matter what we are in constant spiritual flux.

I, as much or even more than others, would love to find that spot or Ideal realized. Like a moth to the flame, wouldn’t any of us sacrifice ourselves for greater and total reunion with God.

My position is not anxiousness, it’s Patience. It’s not wanderlust, but the insistence of Spiritual Certainty.

I believe that our greatest communion is self to God, our greatest values are worked through our community, and Truth & Justice transcends Religion and Borders.

For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.”

                                                            – Matthew 18:20

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Spiritual Perseverance”

  1. Pat Cegan Says:

    Good theme and well stated. Spiritual seeking is a way of being. We are spiritual beings evolving, co-creating, learning how to love unconditionally. Some say that we will eventually “get there” but if not, the journey is amazing. Keep writing. I love your posts. Hugs, pat

  2. Random Ntrygg Says:

    I disagree, I think that you can find what you are looking for – partly, it depends on knowing what it is and how measurable and achievable it is.

    world peace for example, would be impossible, there’s too many variables

    but a happy and purposeful life, that is attainable

    your goal has to be down to your sphere of influence and control

    • informationforager Says:

      That is a lot of my whole point, a meaningful and purposeful life. It’s when others want me to believe in transient objects and temporary methods that things become complicated. Frequently it when those beliefs are ego-centric, geographically driven, or power laden that they become a hindrance for me. Yes I’m devoted to God and that is practiced in the community. Thanks again.

  3. informationforager Says:

    Pat, Thank you again for your kind words. I try to read ALL of your posts and learn greatly from them. You HAVE tweaked some of my understandings in a better light. Thanks again.

  4. Professor Taboo Says:

    A most excellent blog! You have put the spiritual journey simply & elequently, thank you! Your point on ‘arriving’ is in my humble opinion spot on: it is NOT an external object or dependency on an object or person (which nurtures non-ownership of actions!). It is most definitely a process in perpetual flux between yourself and the Greater Good/Universe, both beyond AND within equally. Great stuff! 🙂

  5. Christina Cronk Says:

    Exactly, it is the journey and not the destination that brings the answers we seek.

  6. informationforager Says:

    Thank You fvery much Christina. It’s a hard concept to grasp and an even harder one to live. Peace be with you.

    P.S. I took a look at you “Books” tab:

    http://christinacronk.wordpress.com/

    and recognized a book that I have read. I am rereading it and I am going to do a Spiritual Book Review on it.

  7. souldipper Says:

    Salve to my soul, IF. Many thanks for being you. Keep posting! 😀

  8. Phil Says:

    Thank you. I appreciate you kind words. Peace be with you.

  9. Bhaga Says:

    I had a few days without internet connection, so now i have to read your posts backwards!…. Nice anyway.
    About your post now:
    That’s what is so wonderful about spiritual development: it is eternal and endless! Always more to discover and understand, always more to become! We all are essentially the Divine exploring Himself/Herself/Itself, and the Divine is infinite, so we have all eternity for this!… 😀

Leave a Reply

