Faith(102)

A famous entertainer had developed a habit that upon arising in the morning and taking care of the morning preparations he would stand in front of the mirror and recite special affirmations.   These were personal and uplifting and filled with love and appreciation.  He was a great star and had great faith in himself and his abilities.  Unfortunately his life ended with less than satisfactory results and social approval.   I’m purposely not revealing the name so as to not besmirch the individual.  The reasons I cite him in this post though is because I question “What went wrong?”    If he had faith how did his life end differently than what he would have wanted? I’m not sure if he had faith of if he was living in an illusion.

A  young adolescent boy about nine years old was asked one day “Son, what do you think faith is?’  He looked up and said plain as day, “Faith is something you believe in even thought in your heart you know it really isn’t true.” <(Source Unknown)   It’s hard to really pinpoint exactly what faith really, really is.   We know it when we see it but again it’s not really something you can hold in your hand.

According to Merrium-Webster Dictionary:

Definition of FAITH

1
a : allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty b (1) : fidelity to one’s promises (2) : sincerity of intentions
2
a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion b (1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2) : complete trust
3
: something that is believed especially with strong conviction; especially : a system of religious beliefs <the Protestant faith>

I am intrigued by 2b(1) “firm belief in something for which there is no proof.”

When I think of Jesus baptism  and his travails in the desert for forty days and forty nights, wasn’t he examining his faith?   When he prayed in Gethsemane and expressed that this cup be taken from him, was that doubt?

Faith is the belief in something outside of ourselves.  In many ways it is denial.  It is living outside The Consciousness of Now.  It is Future Redemption. It is Something More, a Greater Reality and Something Ahead and Something in the Future.

Again I say the our faith has to have Substance.  It must be Real.  It must be made Whole. The Entertainer was in some ways living an illusion, maybe his faith was misplaced(himself), maybe he also had contradictory thoughts throughout the day that voided his faith. Many many people have had misplaced faith and illusions.  Many of my friends and relatives have invested heavily in dreams, illusions, hopes and fears that I could see were bound for failure.   Frequently too, after the fact, they politely let me know when I had believed in a false Ideal. I also have seen people express great energy, vision and faith and proved me wrong.   Are those having the greatest faith just madmen living in institutions?  Are those that live in a purely materialistic, faithless world living on an island?  Should our faith be more practical? Now comes some of the favorites words that I like to say, “I don’t know…..”

I invite your input here about illusion, practicality, and faith. What are your experiences?  This is something that I need further imput on. It’s something that I am constantly trying to figure out.  Do I lack faith or do I just not want to believe in the wrong. I obviously do have faith because I have endured many, many trials in which I realized “Yes, Yes, you were right in your convictions!!”

I do have an absolute faith so allow me to quote from one of the most direct, simple, practical visionaries of our time:

I am looking for a lot of men who have infinite capacity to not know what can’t be done.

                                                                        -Henry Ford

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Faith(102)”

  1. Bridgesburning Chris King Says:

    I have a great deal of faith..I feel faith but cannot explain it..I heard an interesting story a few years ago about believing and faith. A man walked a high wire across Niagara Falls. Another said..I believe…that is wonderful but when the walker offered to carry the believer across the wire the first man declined. You see he believed but he had no faith in the walker. I did not tell the story exactly right though.

  2. Professor Taboo Says:

    I should be one of the LAST people to speak on such a difficult question! But here goes…

    I believe in or have faith in humanity’s common denominators. At certain points throughout our history, groups have competed for humanity’s heart or soul. Seemingly very different in creeds or titles they all fall into two fundamentals: Doctrines of Inclusiveness or Oneness, or Doctrines of Exclusiveness or Separation. Care to guess which one has won out most of the time? This is quite possibly MY illusion: that when more & more humans stop considering themselves “best or better” and focus more or most of their time & energy in living the Golden Rule…or perhaps more precisely: The Law of Reciprocity. Astonishingly, this code of ethics has been taught since 1970 BCE right up to today by ALL major world religions or philosophies. A wonderful common denominator!

    For the last several decades physics and Quantum Physics are proving every year that the Universe is connected as One from the subatomic-nuclear scale of Inner Space/Soul, up to the Cosmic/Outer Space scale. And I believe, or in this case, have complete faith that Quantum Physics & modern paranormal turned normal, will by the next decades or sooner usher in a Tsunami of Consciouness way beyond what any old paradigms could ever offer, explain, or dominate.

    And I emphasize, this tsunami will not discriminate. It is open to all who desire togetherness.

    With those hints of preachingNESS….I will shut up! LOL

  3. informationforager Says:

    Thank you for your excellant commentary. As usual you have very worthwhile things to say. Frequently we agree on many isssues but I like that you’ll read my writings, shine a prism on them, and show me another new way to see it. Thanks agin.

  4. souldipper Says:

    Your post brings to mind a concept that’s helped a few times:

    When my old car is hardly working, I *know* where to take it. I *believe* in the mechanic because he’s fixed the car many times before. However, once there, do I have enough *faith* to simply surrender my car to him and say, “Do what you know is necessary.”?

  5. informationforager Says:

    That is such an excellant example because on the one hand “I don’t know how to fix it.” But then on the other had can I trust him to fix it without a) messing it up, b) overchargeing me, c) adding more stuff on that I don’t need. I guess we have to have faith and pray about it. Pray for the Mechanic, pray for the car, and pray for Me. Thanks.

  6. lulu Says:

    Sometimes there are questions for which there are no answers, and this may be one that has no right, complete answer. For me faith is simply believing in something, in my case God, greater than me. That faith gives me the courage and confidence to go on, believing that in some small way I am His child, doing what he would have me do. I have faith in what I am given to work with and hope the decisions that come from that are ones that allow me to better fulfill whatever my purpose is in life. I am grateful for a God that allows me to question and be challenged.

Leave a Reply

