Truth

I believe that Truth is a very important component of Spirituality.

As I’ve studied various spiritual tomes, religious tracts, bibles, Near Death Experience books I’ve come across a theme that recurs over and over again.   In the hereafter nothing is SECRET.   Everything is known.  Everything is understood or can be understood.

Now that is a thought that both scares me and highly intrigues me.

It scares me because I don’t really want the things of my life to be public knowledge.  I don’t want my indiscretions of selfishness to fly as a flag from the tallest mast on the biggest ship in the widest ocean. YES, I”M AFRAID THAT PEOPLE WILL SEE ME AS I REALLY AM.    Some of that is very, very good because sometimes I am very, very good.  But I am all to aware of the multitude of times that I have let  down my brothers and sisters.

The good part of a hereafter with no secrets is all man-made political and spiritual systems will be laid bare as provincial, ego-building systems. The Universal truths will be self-evident and undeniable. Spirituality will be plain and forthright. TRUTH will be as evident as the clouds in the sky, the streams through the wilds, and the trees in the forest.  In short, incontestable, undebatable.  I believe that I will finally have real answers to real questions of the Universe and God’s world.   I WILL UNDERSTAND THINGS.  Reality won’t be open to interpretation.   All the different positional sides of people will enable us to see ourselves as ONE.

I believe that there are two kinds of Truth: Provincial Truths and Universal Truths. The provincial truths are those that are primarily geographic, local and temporal.  The Universal truths are true despite geogaphy or time.   They are true everywhere, all the time, for all people.

Provincial Truths can further be broken down into true or passing for true(talk about doublespeak).   A real provincial truth is usually small personal, geographic and timely. The love of my family is a provincial truth. It’s real to me but but does not carry over to other people, other places, or other times.

The false provincial truths are provincial truths trying to pass for Universal Truths. These are truths that the religious, the political, and particular try to pass off as “We Are The One”.  In short, it is various groups trying to “co-op” and “incorporate” the truth to their personal use.

The discovery of a false provincial truth can be seen by trying to take it to another part of the world and imparting that truth there.    If it appears at all self-serving or self-directed then it could be met with jeers and disdain.   “You believe what?” they would say.  It becomes a propositional  truth that has to be sold.

The Universal truths can be recognized everywhere, all the time.   Truths that are Universal can be recognized as, “whatever you do unto others will be done to you”, “As you give you gain in understanding”, “you must first save yourself if you would save another.”  These are truths that can usually be recognized by all people, anywhere, anytime.

It will behoove us to learn NOW to be as honest as possible. If upon entrance to the hereafter we try to carry on as we did on earth our foolish lies will pervade our whole existence. We will be embarrassed that we can’t face the truth.

Imagine a world in which every mistruth exposes us as a long-nosed Pinocchio, or the naked Emperor upstaged by a child(“The Emperor’s New Clothes“). Could we live with our lies emblazoned like NEON signs on our forehead? Don’t you think that we would grow mute if we couldn’t tell the truth. If every word we uttered was an attempt to amend and modify our world to our selfishness wouldn’t we see the need to change?  If our normal shortcut answers failed to help us wouldn’t we try to align ourselves to Universal Truth?

Truth is like the sun. You can shut it out for a time, but it ain’t goin’ away.

                                                                     -Elvis Presley

Tags: , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Truth”

  1. Lady Marilyn Kay Dennis Says:

    All that exists stems from the same basic matter. We are related to and connected to everything that has ever existed in the Past, everything that exists Now and everything that will exist in the Future. And all of it is alive. Every time that we harm a living thing, we are harming ourselves. Each of our thoughts and actions affects everything around us as well as ourselves. Truth is so simple, yet so enormous, enveloping and life-changing, that we prefer to ignore it and stay close to the ground. For, if we ever climb that mountain, we would see the Truth spread out around us like a vast landscape, and we would perhaps not survive its light.

  2. informationforager Says:

    Thanks for your message. I think that I can see that you have a very advanced understanding of these things and that makes me feel real good. I doubt if I’m telling you very much that’s new but here is the Jiddu Krishnamurti speech the night he abdicated his saviourship, it’s one of my favorite historical events with such a great speech:

    You may remember the story of how the devil and a friend of his were walking down the street, when they saw ahead of them a man stooped down and picked up something from the ground, looked at it, and put it away in his pocket. The friend said to the devil, “What did that man pick up?” “He picked up a piece of the truth,” said the devil. “That is a very bad business for you, then,” said his friend. “Oh, not at all,” the devil replied, “I am going to help him organize it.” I maintain that truth is a pathless land, and you cannot approach it by any path whatsoever, by any religion, by any sect. That is my point of view, and I adhere to that absolutely and unconditionally. Truth, being limitless, unconditioned, unapproachable by any path whatsoever, cannot be organized; nor should any organization be formed to lead or coerce people along a particular path.

    My full post of this is here:

    https://informationforager.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/jiddu-krishnamurti-a-real-prophet/

  3. Lady Marilyn Kay Dennis Says:

    I’m back, having read the post for which you gave the link above. Helena Blavatsky (I hope that’s the right spelling) used to say, “All that rises, converges” and I think that that’s right. She has the privilege of being the only woman to found a religion. Which is a pity. She was a very spiritual person but became entangled with people who wanted to “organize” her. She inspired many people but things were bound to degenerate once she was gone. I’m glad that Jiddu-Krishnamurti disbanded the religion.

  4. Danny Says:

    hehehe..you’ve said”In the hereafter nothing is SECRET. Everything is known. Everything is understood or can be understood.

    Now that is a thought that both scares me and highly intrigues me”..well..nice post…but be careful and ask yourself this very question…what IF the Truth defines itself by experimenting itself in YOU?..imagine a coyote in the desert running away from you,and you are the coyote…at the moment you try to catch it,or define the truth..you already lost it…why is that?..because if you’d catch it,you’d loose the drive to discover yourself,dear..kiss from the mahayogi:)..be well….all you can discover is the beauty of your true nature(or essence,or tao,or the pure being,etc…)..but never think for a second that everything is known…because the truth redefines itself ,to make you happy..that’s all..please do NOT confuse Essence with the Function of it…the function you’ll never know,since is meant that way,since it knows only thru you,like a coyote..please ponder of my mahayogi words,if you have time,dear..kiss:)

    • informationforager Says:

      Very, very good Danny. I stand corrected. If I gather what you’re saying, that ultimately the truth is not to be a known quantity. This life and the hereafter is a process, not an end all, now all finality. I just got done reading “The Harvard Psychedelic Club”. The most amazing part is where Richard Alpert travels to the east(to find Truth?) and he basically has a psychic/spiritual/religious event that he is completely unable to understand. He can’t tell the beginning or the end. He doesn’t know if his teacher or himself created the experience. What is the essence of the experience?

      Thanks again. Peace be with you.

      • Danny Says:

        Again,the essence of experience is the very Truth(as you call it) trying to know itself..in you..the source of the Truth is eternal,not moving,and peaceful..when it is radiant…the source is beautiful,loving,and never afraid..(on the manifestation factor)when it comes down to lower levels of vibrations,the same source experiences itself even in an ant..or a fly on the wall…or a bacteria,or a human..What I was trying to convey to you,my dear..is this…all you can know is the truth as origin of it..is like the coyote knowing it’s own face,or knowing you’ve created the game just to know yourself..or like the snake eating it’s own tail…so have no worries about death,please..thus spokenth the mahayogi!

  5. informationforager Says:

    Thanks. Your words reminded me of a quote from Jung:

    Swamped by the knowledge of external objects, this subject of all knowledge has been temporarily eclipsed to the point of seeming nonexistence.
    C. G. Jung 1946

    I’ve added your blog to my blogroll list. Peace be with you.

  6. Danny Says:

    Kiss to you too..I just run a random post on my blog,asking about what you should learn..and I got this… http://kriptodanny.blogspot.com/2009/09/friend.html let me quote”from Lalla: Naked Song, translated by Coleman Barks
    -Searching for The Friend –

    I wearied myself searching for The Friend

    with efforts beyond my strength.

    I came to the door and saw how
    powerfully the locks were bolted.

    And the longing in me became that strong,
    and then I saw that I was gazing
    from within the presence.

    With that waiting, and in giving up all trying,
    only then did Lalla flow out
    from where I knelt.

    – Lalla

    Kiss to you,and for Lalla((1320 – 1392) also:)and then I saw that I was gazing
    from within the presence..That woman KNEW the truth,indeed:)

  7. informationforager Says:

    Thanks. I like how your post uses all Media: Mataji, Matrix, The Archies, and Homer Simpson. Peace be with you.

  8. Lady Marilyn Kay Dennis Says:

    I thought that you might like to have a look at a poem that I posted on my blog in 2010. Here is the link:

    http://marilynkaydennis.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/truths-light/

    Basically, I was saying that we need to look inside ourselves to find the truth.

  9. Danny Says:

    Hi Lady Marilyn….I respond only to questions..you’re talking to me,or to informationforanger?..would be nice if you could say whom you’ve addressed that thought,or poem…kiss:)..I am clumsy on these things,please forgive me..kiss:)..but..if that was addressed to me,then please explain me(if is possible..if not..then I will be forever an idiot) how one looks inside oneself to find the truth,as you say one must do..thank you very much:)..kiss:)

  10. informationforager Says:

    Thank you very much!!! It’s a really great poem. It’s so amazing that someone else’s inspiration sparked a light in you too. As for who it’s sent for….anyone that wants to read it I suppose. I’m going to leave it here so others can see it and read it and understand it. Peace be with you.

    P.S. Write more poems. Especially the spiritual kind.

  11. UFO Says:

    UFO…

    […]Truth « SpiritualThemes[…]…

Leave a Reply

